Obtaining a California Marriage License
(Family Code section 350 et seq.)
Marriage licenses can be obtained at the County Government Center in Ventura at the County Clerk’s Office, Hall of Administration, Main Plaza, 800 South Victoria Avenue, Ventura, CA 93009-1260.
Marriage Licenses may be obtained from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. APPOINTMENTS ARE HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.Call (805) 654-2263 to schedule an appointment.
Types of Payment: Cash, Check and Debit and Credit cards.
If you require any special accommodations due to a disability, please contact our office beforehand so we can assist you with your request.
Marriage licenses in Thousand Oaks are only issued by appointment. Please call (805) 654-2263 or (805) 449-2157 to schedule an appointment. Appointments in Thousand Oaks are scheduled Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 9:00 A.M. to 11:30 A.M. and from 1:00 to 1:30 P.M.
Online Marriage License Applications are now available. When you have COMPLETED your online application and received your reference number, both parties will have to go to the County Government Center in Ventura at the office of the County Clerk and Recorder’s Office, Hall of Administration, Main Plaza, 800 S. Victoria Avenue, Ventura CA 93009-1260, in order to obtain your marriage license.
Please NOTE: Your Internet Online Application will only be kept on file 10 business days from the date submitted to the Clerk and Recorder’s office.
You can also download and complete a Marriage License Application before you come into our office to obtain your marriage license. Both parties have to be present.
APPLICANTS 18 YEARS AND OLDER
BOTH applicants must be present.
DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS: A valid government-issued, picture identification is required to verify name, age, and identity, along with any other document that may be applicable for the issuance of a marriage license (e.g. adoption papers, superior court name change, etc.).
THE NAME EQUALITY ACT OF 2007: Family Code Section 306.5 provides that at the time the application for a marriage license, one or both parties to the marriage may elect to change the middle or last names, or both, by which that party wishes to be known after solemnization of the marriage by entering that information on the marriage license application. For detailed information regarding what can or cannot be changed, please view our Equality Act document.
If you do not bring the appropriate documentation, you will not be issued a marriage license.
FEE is $98.00 cash, check, or credit card. Additional fees may be required for any special processing.
There is no waiting period. The license may be used upon issuance. The license is valid for 90 days.
The ceremony may take place anywhere in the State of California. After the ceremony, the license/certificate is returned to the Ventura County Recorder’s Office. After recording, copies may be obtained from the County Recorder’s Office upon request either in person or by mail. The fee for a certified copy is $15.00. County Recorder Office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.
APPLICANTS UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE
Person(s) under the age of 18 will need to contact the Youth Services Center regarding requirements.
Youth Services Center (805) 981-9200
1911 Williams Drive
Oxnard, CA 93030
Youth Services Center (805) 582-8032
3855 Alamo Street, Suite F
Simi Valley, CA 93063
Person(s) under the age of 18 must also have parental and judicial consent to marry. Minor marriage applications are filed in the Superior Court. If approved, the couple will present a certified copy of the court order authorizing them to marry to the County Clerk at the time the marriage license is issued.